That 70’s Show ~ My Life In Retrospect

photo from wikipedia

I love That 70’s Show!

I was really sad early last week when I discovered the series was on Netflix live stream. The reason for my big salty tears is because Netflix removed the series February 1st!

You should have seen me! It was a “That 70’s Show” marathon for 3 days. I had to get my fix before they removed it from the Netflix Queue.

I wasn’t a faithful watcher when it was a current television event. I do not watch regular TV. I hate commercials for one and the other main reason I hate network TV is you have to wait a whole entire week for the next episode!

Lost is another example of my love hate relationship with network television. Loved the show. Just couldn’t stand waiting an entire week to have a few answers and more questions. I waited until Lost was released on DVD’s and then watched full seasons marathon style as well.

The first time I watched That 70’s Show was 2 summers ago while visiting my dad. He has satellite TV and Aliesha and I soaked up the retro vibes of That 70’s Show non-stop!

Aliesha doesn’t have a clue. She was born in the 90’s. The 70’s are the olden days to her.

But me! That 70’s show is a retrospect of my life!

photo from wikipedia

Including the “Circle”. Except my “Circle” was not in a basement but in an attic or Alan’s Room. Good times!

All of the issues and attitudes of the 70’s are related perfectly on this sitcom. Sex, drugs, music, fashion, cars, economics, Star Wars, and relationships. I find myself saying..”Yeah,Yeah! That’s the way it really was!”

I don’t think I am any character from the show (in whole). Even though my name is Lori, I was nothing like the character Laurie on the show! I promise, I was not a manipulator or overly promiscuous during the 70’s! I was a  little of Jackie and Donna both. Living my life in the generation of exploration.

I had friends who depict actual characters from That 70’s Show. I actually knew a Hyde, Foreman, Kelso and Fez! Let the Good Times Roll!’

I think when they disclose in the final credits that…

“All characters appearing in this work are fictitious. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.”

It’s a lie…All lies!

9 thoughts on “That 70’s Show ~ My Life In Retrospect

  1. Maybe you can buy a boxed set of the 70’s show Lori? Too bad it’s off Netflix since you just did a review and heck, where can one go to see the show now??
    Glad you’re back 🙂

    • I don’t purchase movies or boxed sets. I rarely watch a movie or show more than once. I guess I’ll have to get my 70’s fix when I visit my Dad again. I have been having computer issues so my online time has been limited. Glad you missed me! 🙂

  2. It was a good show, I liked it but didn’t watch it regularly. I am not much of a TV person, well except for American Idol because of the Steven thing. 😉 Glad to hear you were more of a mix of Donna and Jackie. Better than be like the loose Foreman daughter, was her name Laurie? I worded that so nicely, but you know what I mean. Good post as always! 🙂

  3. Wasn’t too impressed with anything to do with the ’70’s, but I was already “old” by then and wasn’t into nostalgia. Sorry about the show being cancelled on you! I felt that way when they shut down Dark Shadows. Now, I think I posted this to the wrong subject! Too late! Love you…
    Mom

  4. Love love love That 70s show (although I was a 90s baby I’m pretty convinced that my parents had me 30 years later than they were supposed to). I also am like you in that I don’t watch t.v. because I’m too impatient. I can’t even watch Hulu because the 30 second commercials are just much too long now that I have Instant Gratification via Netflix. We are so spoiled! (But in a way, I feel that things are going back to the Good Old Days, with WTTW, and PBS, and all the other TV stations that NEVER had commercials).

    Anywho, I’m enjoying reading your blog, I stumbled across it while blog-surfing, and got hooked. So thank you in advance, for my next several hours of entertainment which your blog will afford me. (That is, until I go back to watching Biggest Loser on Netflix!) Blog on!

    • Hello Mimi!
      Better late than never on my approval and reply…I guess. 😦
      Sadly I have been away from WordPress for a very long time because of an overly horrendous work schedule, a terrible move across 3 states and the worst ever imaginable….no internet in my home for 3 whole months. Look for my blog submission about that ordeal soon! Not fun.
      Hopefully I will begin writing and sticking to it with full force very soon.
      Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and taking the time to leave such a nice comment.
      Sincerely,
      Lori

Leave a comment