Christmas Trees and Puppies

This year it has been a bit difficult to enter into the Christmas mood.

It isn’t because I haven’t tried. The day after Thanksgiving we went out on our annual Tree Hunt with Daniel and family. It was a great time and only took 30 minutes to find the perfect tree! Compared to past Christmas’ where entire days were spent hunting and searching only to settle for the less than perfect tree, this year was a breeze. It was cold that day and you know how I feel about being cold but Daniel built an excellent campfire to warm us up a bit. And the best treat of all, homemade bread toasted with cream cheese, pesto and fresh garden tomatoes…cooked over the campfire! Daniel really out did himself.

Grandkids enjoying the tree hunt

Grandkids enjoying the tree hunt

Tying the trophies to the rig

Tying the trophies to the rig

I went to visit Joshua on December 2nd for 2 weeks and was able to get the tree decorated before I left. This was quite a huge task because it usually takes me a couple of days to complete the project but I managed to get it done in one evening. And it still looked beautiful even with the rush job…

Red and Gold

Red and Gold

Not bad huh?

About 7 months ago we added a new member to the family. The canine kind. We have not raised a puppy in about as many years as we have not raised small children. Oh my goodness are puppies a lot of work! We are enjoying her immensely but it is a full-time job minding after her four legs. Cleaning up her messes, keeping her occupied, teaching her tricks and obedience and loving her, all are very time-consuming.  If you know a little about puppies you know they love, love, love to play, especially with toys. I bet you know where this is heading… 

The above pictured, beautifully decked, Christmas tree became Kiari’s new favorite toy.

Kiari wishes you a Merry Christmas

Kiari wishes you a Merry Christmas

Kiari Franks

Kiari Franks

How can you stay mad at that face?

Today is winter solstice and Christmas is only 4 days away. If I’m going to embrace the season I better get busy with it. Because of my schedule we have not got any shopping done. This is the latest I have ever waited to Christmas shop. Not one single present under the tree. Sad face. (Probably a good thing or Kiari would have many new toys to shred play with all over the house)

I just watched Mickey’s Christmas Carol a few nights ago with my grandson and all the characters did their shopping on Christmas Eve, so maybe I’ll renew an old tradition.

 

 

Leave a Reply

