Post A Week 2012

When I first began blogging on WordPress at the end of September 2011 I got all crazy and signed up for the Post A Day challenge. I figured since it was already the 3rd quarter of the year I could do it. It wasn’t like I was starting a brand new year, a full 365 days of publishing. I have to say I was very successful in keeping true to my challenge. I posted almost everyday. I only missed a day or two around the holidays and a couple days when Alan finally came home after 5 months of working out of state. More important things to do than sitting and pecking away at my keyboard. I appreciate the Post A Day program, I think it gave me the boost I needed to get off to a great start of blogging in earnest.

Now it’s a new year. Almost. January is about over, but we are still only in the first quarter of the year. That means if I were to take up the challenge of Post A Day, I would have to really write a lot. Many words, everyday. For the rest of the year. 337 days to go.

With these facts in mind I have decided to join the ranks of the Post A Week 2012. I know I can post at least once a week. I am almost positive I will post more than that, but committing to a post a day for the entire year….probably not. I knew I wouldn’t be able to pull that one off. I know my limitations….sometimes.

 

And why set myself up for failure? It would be like making a New Years Resolution. As most of you know I don’t play those resolution games.

By accepting the challenge of Post A Week 2012, I am pretty sure I will continue my blogging success, no failures lurking around the publishing corner.

Plus, I get to sport a cool badge on my sidebar!

17 thoughts on “Post A Week 2012

  1. That’s a good decision Lori, you have Alan home now and you need time together. Your blogs are wonderful, well worth waiting for whenever you can fit them in. 🙂 It’s funny, Autumn and I have ended posting almost everyday and never signed up because of the pressure. Sporting a cool badge might be worth it! 🙂

  2. Hi,
    Sounds like a great idea. Blogging should be fun and not about pressure, it really doesn’t matter if you blog once a week, or more, it is what you are comfortable with that matters. 🙂

  3. Once a week it obtainable. Once a day? I wonder how many people who sign up to Post a Day follow through with the commitment. Like I said to Gabby, posting once a day for me made it more like a job and I didn’t jump into this for work. I wanted it to be fun!

  4. Good decision, Lori! I’m not familiar with blog rules? Do they send the blog cops after you if you don’t write every day if you say “daily”? Wow! Like a real job! Any “words” and whenever, is great to anticipate from you! Love you!
    Mom

    • Mom,
      I don’t think there are blog cops. But maybe they are lurking out there in the web…just waiting for someone not to follow through with their blogging commitments. Seriously the programs are there to keep you motivated and inspired. That’s all. I’m happy that I keep you on pins and needles with my posts!

  5. I like your mom’s comment: “Do they send the blog cops after you . . .” LOL!
    Sending you *cyber all-the-best-post-a-day-energy-rays to ya. I’m gonna keep some here too because I know I’ll need it! 🙂

  6. I’m with you! I could never post every day, and figure I’m good if I get a post out every week. Then again, I’m a slow writer and second guess everything I do. I’d rather take my time and go for quality over quantity. At least that’s what I’m going with, haha.

  7. I’m with you. I challenged myself to fill 2012 with 366 days of laughter this year. Each day I wake with a fear I will not be funny today. LOL. Now I realize I haven’t done today’s post either. Yikes, I’ve used up all my funny stuff on my comments today..

    Good luck! And I’ll be there rooting for you!

  8. Hi Lori
    I love your funky badge, and I think a post a week is absolutely perfect. I loved your Mom’s comment too..haha…blog cops ! I have another blogger that I follow and her Mom called her blog a BLOB…she is in her 80’s…oh my, I had a big fat belly laugh at that one.
    What a hoot!
    Happy blogging my friend
    Lynne xx

  9. Although I have taken part in the “Post A Day 2011” challenge, I was reluctant to use the badge on my blog, because mine is a Mon.-Fri. blog. I DO still use a “postaday2011” TAG with my blog, and nearly every day they feature my photo:
    http://en.wordpress.com/tag/postaday2011/ [I never THOUGHT to switch to the 2012 challenge, and obviously I have a LOT of company!]

    I have never missed a weekday post since I launched my photoblog on Nov. 1, 2010. I appreciate your comments and support.

Leave a Reply

