2012

So… it’s a new year! 2012. I have to say I think it looks good in print. 2012. Yeah, I like it.

For the record, I am not making any New Years Resolutions for 2012. I think resolutions are lame. I never stick to them, ever.  I always feel like a failure, so I just don’t set myself up for being the inevitable resolution loser. I often wonder how many people actually stick to their resolutions all year. I think the ones that do should be awarded some huge trophy,  badge of honor or something.

I am truly looking forward to the coming year.

Even though it might be our last according to the movie 2012, Mayan predictions and most likely Harold Camping. I’m almost positive he will come up with a new date sometime this year that will seal our doom.

But what are you going to do about it? Worry, cry, hide, run for the hills? None of those are going to help you if it is really the end. Nope.

One of my life motto’s is; Live everyday like it’s your last. Because really…it could be. It might happen that a plane crashes on your house, a 100 lb. light fixture falls on your head at work, you could have a massive heart attack, get run over by a bus or apocalypse. They all pretty much have the same outcome. The end.

I was talking with a lady at work today and genuinely wished her a happy new year. The response she gave made me wish I hadn’t said anything at all. She started ranting on how it’s going to be worse than last year and we shouldn’t get our hopes up and we need to be realistic. Geez, how does that woman get out of bed in the morning? Maybe she needs to run for the hills. I wanted to administer some happy drugs to the poor lady. And no, I don’t work in a hospital.

So, my plan is to live everyday of 2012 like it could be my last, full of hope and happiness. Because that’s what I’m going to do, I don’t need to make any stupid New Years resolutions or run and hide in the hills.

16 thoughts on “2012

  1. Happy New Years, Lori! I get the trophy for NEVER making resolutions! earned that many years ago and it works! Why buy into failure? Not one of my best genes! Life is great! It beats the alternative too! Love ya!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

