Shopping For Shampoo

Some years ago I was shopping with my mom, picking up a few needed items. Who would think that shopping for such essentials could be such an arduous task?  (This actually happened quite a while ago so I thought I better commit it to writing lest I forget how funny I am.)

Mom needed shampoo. The two of us were perusing the haircare aisle in our favorite store that starts with a “W”. I found the brand that she was looking for and grabbed 2 bottles of the shampoo and put them in the shopping cart.

Later that day she decides to wash her hair with the new shampoo. She said that when she added the “shampoo” she wasn’t getting any lather. No suds. No bubbles. She added more. Nothing.

She didn’t say anything to me until she came out of the bathroom and and then she said,

“There’s something wrong with that shampoo Lori. It doesn’t suds up and my hair feels all greasy. I tried both bottles. That stuff is terrible.”

“That’s weird, I’ve used it before and I really like it. Let me see it”, I replied.

What an idiot! Some how I had grabbed 2 bottles of conditioner. Marked clearly on the bottle…C.O.N.D.I.T.I.O.N.E.R.

Now my poor mother is sporting the limpest hair known in the coiffure world . My mom’s hair is fine and thin so you can imagine how bodiless her crown was after washing her hair with conditioner, repeatedly.

“I’m so sorry! I looked at the bottles I swear!

So another trip to the “W” store to return the conditioner and replace it with shampoo.

Here’s the picture:

Two women in the haircare aisle. One with a cane for the blind and hair straight as a stick. The other picking up a bottle of shampoo and reciting the word slowly like this….”SSShhhaaammmppppooooo” (I wanted to make sure not to make the same mistake twice!)

People walking past probably felt great pity for the blind woman and her retarded daughter. Mom and I still laugh uncontrollably when we recall how we must have looked.

I think it took about 3 days worth of shampooing to get all that conditioner out of her hair.

16 thoughts on “Shopping For Shampoo

  1. Oh, my gosh! Lori! So funny you wrote about this!! Can you believe I did this AGAIN, just recently? Now, with TWO people in the same house that are stone, cold blind, I ask my signifigant other if “this bottle is shampoo or is it conditioner”? A gift from a friend who didn’t mark the bottles for me? Yep! He says to me, “Yep, it’s shampoo”, and into the shower I go! Icky and gooey and slick as snot! Yep! It was conditioner! When I go shopping for “personal needs, I so want a personal shopper to help me! Plain and generic shampoo! NO conditioner! All of the well-meaning people who give me conditioner! A pox on their houses! I love it! We were a pair of silly women that day when we returned and bought the right thing! Split a gut! Love ya, Sweet Thing!
    Mom

  2. I loved this post. I could just picture the two of you, “special” people trying to be concise. lol
    When I visit one of my sisters in Canada, of course they allow me to use their shampoo etc when I shower. Well, in the shower without my glasses on, with water pouring over me, trying so hard to read the labels on the bottles which are all in FRENCH…..I have no idea what I am doing. It’s trial and error. If it suds, it’s shampoo, if my hair falls out, it’s hair remover! YIKES…..think I’ll bring my own next time. lol

  3. I love it! Your mother and you and I should all go shopping together: the blind leading the blind leading the clueless (though, of course, you aren’t clueless!). By the way, I love the picture at the top of your blog. Yellow flowers are my favorite.

    • We could be the 3 Shopping Stooges!
      Maybe there’s a new comedy show in the works here.

      About my header picture….I grew some sunflowers last summer and took some not so bad pictures. Glad you like them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

