Handmade Christmas Stockings~What Was I Thinking?

I am a crafty girl. (Not crafty like sneaky, crafty like creating handmade items)

I enjoy many types of arts and craft projects. Some of my favorite are acrylic painting, scrap booking, card making, sewing, needlepoint and crocheting.

My two biggest projects ever were a crocheted table cloth and valances for every window in my living room and kitchen. I used the tiny crochet thread used to make doilies and a teeny tiny hook. I remember it took 4-ever to complete my table cloth. Alan used to tease me and tell me if I died before I finished it, he would bring it with him in the Rapture and I could complete it during the Millennium.

Thanks.

The valances took just as long, but I was oblivious to the time spent because we were living pioneer style, “Up On The Hill”, and I didn’t have a lot else to do. (As I mentioned before I will write a book some day about our life during that time, bet ‘cha can’t wait!)

Most of my creative endeavors have been in my past. Right now, at this time in my life I am too busy to sit down and take on such creative nonsense.

So what was I thinking on Black Friday?

We were in Hobby Lobby and I saw the cutest Christmas stocking kits! Oh, Oh and they were 50% off!

So… I bought not 1…. but 3 of them!

Cute Santa and Snowman Stocking

Aliesha is making this one! It is really cute with the snowman, Santa and the elf all decorating the tree.

Snowman and Birdhouses

I love snowmen so I had to have this one. Isn’t it super cute?

Red Cardinals

This was Alan’s favorite, so we had to buy it too. Oh yes, Alan was there, encouraging me every step of the way.

Let me please reiterate…these are kits, you have to sew on sequins and beads, you have to embroider and applique and stuff little bits of poly-fill into certain spots to make a three dimensional look. These are not kid crafts, no, no, these are crazy in the cabaza kits!

Tonight I busted out the Cardinal kit and began sewing on a few sequins and beads. Aliesha got all excited and got her kit out and we started laughing pretty much 10 minutes into our projects. I said, “Aliesha, I will be 80 and you will be 50 by the time we get these done!” She replied, “Yeah, I thought I was going to make this for myself but I think I will give it to one of my grand kids when I finish it!”

9 thoughts on “Handmade Christmas Stockings~What Was I Thinking?

  1. Those stockings are so cute, and the kits 50% off. That really is a good deal, but they sound so painful to get done! Good luck to you and Aliesha, come on girls you can do it! 🙂

    • Hahaha… painful is right…Aliesha has already poked her finger with the needle a time or two. Thanks for the encouragement, it’s much appreciated and needed to get the project completed by Christmas 2042!

  2. Oh, Lori! The calico stockings I made all of those years ago, still hang mine! The funky fuzzy red ones are so tacky after you “make” your own!
    I used to dread a new one on the list of needed homemade stockings–new husband or someone else who was deserving”? I don’t make them anymore! Poor Karl has a funky fuzzy one and I’ve never felt guilty enough to make him one! Bad woman!
    I’m sure they’ll be wonderful when they’re done! Stitch on! Love you–Mom

    • On Dogwood I made those red and gold satin ones with little gold bells trimmed on the cuffs. Those are the ones I hung up today since these will NOT be done any Christmas soon. I am such a glutton!

  3. I always think crafty things like this sound like a fun idea, but I’d probably get one done and then curse myself when I realize there are still two more to finish.

  4. Okay Lori, the hourglass is now turned over…you and Aliesha have until Dec 25, 2011 to complete the stockings. All the blogging neighbors will be sitting here waiting with great anticipation to see your finished project….no stress, *wink, wink 🙂

  5. Pingback: I Wish I Could Clone Myself | Sunny Side Up

Leave a Reply

