Remembering The Sears Christmas Wish Book

It was about this time of the year when I was a kid that my mom would bring home the Sears Christmas Wish Book Catalog. There were four of us kids all waiting to get our grubby hands on that dream book and find the toy section. But by the middle of December we didn’t even have to search for that beloved section. It had been viewed so much it would just automatically fall open to the coveted new toys we all hoped that Santa would bring us good little girls and boys.

I really do remember this cover!

I was a Barbie girl through and through. I enjoyed many hours of fun with my Barbie Dolls. I had a blast just changing their clothes. My Barbies were the fashionistas, they had quite a wardrobe thanks to my dear mother. One Christmas my mom bought a sewing pattern for Barbie clothes and made a bajillion outfits for my sister and I. She only did that one year, she said she almost went insane sewing those tiny outfits, late at night while we were asleep. I always wondered why her eyes were like XX’s in the morning. She was such a good elf. Thanks mom!

Back to the Wish Book…One Christmas I could not believe my Barbie eyes…a spinning kitchen for my Barbie’s cooking and cleaning pleasures. Maybe my Barbies needed more than a wonderful wardrobe, maybe they needed a….

I just had to have it!!

Oh my goodness, it had it all. Not only did it have a dishwasher, stove, oven, sink and refrigerator, but it had a freaking washer and dryer too. And everything lit up, turned, spun and I just had to have it. Check out the picture..that extraordinary kitchen even has a TV and a telephone. I remember gazing upon that ultimate kitchen, wishing, hoping and probably praying that Santa would bring my Barbies that glorious kitchen.

I am pleased to report that Santa heard my non-stop begging, pleading and constant praise of that Karosel Kitchen and on Christmas morning it was placed under the tree with my name on it. It was everything I hoped it would be and I played many hours with my Barbies….cooking, cleaning, doing laundry….wait….that sounds like housework!

I wonder if my continuous hours of “play” with the Karosel Kitchen is the reason I do not enjoy cooking, cleaning, or doing laundry in my real kitchen today?

Maybe my Barbies should have stuck with modeling their fashionable wardrobes.

12 thoughts on “Remembering The Sears Christmas Wish Book

  1. I remember the Sears Christmas Wish Book! Also Autumn and I loved the Barbies, too. Happy you got the Karosel Kitchen Lori! This was another winning post, I laughed like always…Maybe you did play too much with the Karosel Kitchen! 🙂

  2. My sister and I played Barbies together too. Good times. My daughter also loves Barbies. She has a collection that are still in boxes. When she was little she didn’t understand why she couldn’t open the boxes and play with them. Now she understands and checks prices on Ebay from time to time to see what her collection might be worth.

  3. Hey Lori! I still have that Karousel Kitchen that you passed down to me. I passed it to Brandy, Ashley and now Marissa has it. It has long since stopped spinning and lighting up. Of course a few of the doors are broken (I have them just have to glue them back together) and the little chickens that were in the oven I STILL HAVE THEM!! 🙂
    Love you sis,
    Wendy

  4. Oh, my gosh! That “kitchen” is still around! Amazing! The tiny clothes? I’m still cross-eyed over that project! You could say I was a “driven” woman at that time of my life! Now? Go to the freakin’ store and buy them!! I love you for all of the silly memories! Mom

    • Mom,
      Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your determination. If it was me, (and you know I know how to sew because you taught me), I would have quit on the first tiny shirt and ran to K-Mart and bought those clothes. But instead my Barbies were sporting designer originals made with love! 🙂

    • I never learned how to juggle. My husband and boys are pretty good. They have tightly crocheted juggling balls that are kinda like hacky sacks, but bigger and beautiful bright colors. I use them as decorations.

  5. Your mother deserves sainthood, here on earth (because I see her comment above). I hated Barbies. My first memory is of holding Barbie’s arched feet while my dog chewed on her head. I guess it’s a good thing I have a son and no daughters!

    • Let’s nominate my mom…we could create an award like, “Crazy Love” or “Why Did I Do That?”

      I am sorry we do not share a mutual love of Barbie but I do have a similar story. My dog chewed one of my Barbies arched feet. She was scarred for life, no matter, I covered up the deformation with cute boots.

  6. Pingback: Going Retro ~ Clackers | Sunny Side Up

  7. Pingback: Tokidoki Barbie | Sunny Side Up

Leave a Reply

