How Long Could You Live Without The Internet?

I am on the Internet Every Single Day. And I enjoy it. When I am connected I feel like I am part of a community, just like everyone else in the matrix.

“I don’t need it. I could quit any time. It doesn’t control me, I control the internet!”

Hardy-har-har… I sound like a lady who needs to enter a 7 step program. They say the first step to solving a problem is admitting you have one. So I am OK, because I don’t have a problem.

Seriously though, I could live without the internet. Probably for a very long time but it wouldn’t be pleasant.

How would I blog? I couldn’t! I would only be able to share my funny stories with people within earshot. How come I don’t think that would be very successful? And writing without spell check? Yeah, I know I can work off-line but what fun is that?

Already I’m thinking this internet thing is pretty important.

It would be harder to pay my bills on time without the internet. I would have to get in my car, drive to Wal-Mart and buy some ink pens so I could sign my checks. Then a jaunt to the bank to make sure there is enough money in my account to pay the bills. Back in the car to drive over to the post office to buy stamps and mail them off. Oh no…it’s a Holiday, so the stupid bank and post office are closed. See what I’m talking about?

It would be much harder to stay in touch with friends and family without the internet. Everyone has a Facebook. It is like the modern day grapevine. Instead of saying… “I heard it through the grapevine”, we say, “I saw it on Facebook.” I guess if I didn’t have internet I would have to send real birthday cards, but they would be late….see episode above. (that’s if I could even remember someone’s birthday, isn’t it awesome that Facebook gives us those reminders?)

And my other addiction pastime on the internet is a game on Facebook. I having been playing this game for years. My sister plays too and we spend time chatting with each other while playing. She lives in Cali so it keeps us connected in some weird way. I guess if I didn’t have the internet I would have to retire the game and call my sister on the phone.

Instead of playing online games with my PS3 I would be resolved to play by myself. Sad face. And no more NetFlix….more sad face. Since I don’t have Dish or Cable I would be subjected to watch network television, with commercials….endless sad faces.

So see…I could live without the internet.

I just don’t want to.

One thought on “How Long Could You Live Without The Internet?

  1. My flatmate came into the front room where I was looking at Facebook on my iPhone while my Internet browser on my laptop displayed Twitter, my blog and my G-mail. He accused me of being addicted to The Internet… before slinking off back to his room where he was on-line gaming for 6 straight hours on two monitors… I think he has a problem.

Leave a Reply

